The Hurt Locker Wins Big at the BAFTAs

February 22, 2010 By:
The Hurt Locker Wins Big at the BAFTAs

The Hurt Locker stole the show at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) Awards on Sunday night scooping up six trophies including Best Film and Best Director for Kathryn Bigelow and Original Screenplay.

Accepting her award for Best Director, Bigelow said, "What an honor, especially to be in this room filled with so many incredibly talented people that I've admired and been inspired by for decades."

Newcomer Carey Mulligan from An Education won the Leading Actress award while Colin Firth took home the best leading actor award for A Single Man.

Firth paid tribute to Ford while picking up the trophy, saying, "I think an encounter with Tom Ford is to come away resuscitated, a little more worldly, better informed, better groomed, more fragrant and more nominated than one has ever been before. I've worked with a lot of great directors and he's definitely up there with the very best of them."

The list of winners is as follows:

Best Film - The Hurt Locker

Director - Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker

Leading Actor - Colin Firth, A Single Man

Leading Actress - Carey Mulligan, An Education

Outstanding debut by a U.K. filmmaker - Duncan Jones, Moon

Outstanding British Film - Fish Tank

Supporting Actor - Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds

Supporting Actress - Mo'nique, Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire

Animated Film - Up

Adapted Screenplay - Up In The Air

Orange Rising Star Award - Kristen Stewart

Special Visual Effects - Avatar

Original Screenplay - The Hurt Locker

Production Design - Avatar

Film Not In The English Language - A Prophet

Sound - The Hurt Locker

Editing - The Hurt Locker

Cinematography - The Hurt Locker

Fellowship - Vanessa Redgrave